A warm Saturday

I have never been one for the heat.  This week, (and, according to the weather reports),  the coming week, will be in the upper 80’s to 90’s.   Not my favorite weather.  I also have to go into Manhattan for my treatment and labs on Friday.  I keep saying that I will take the subway and avoid driving in with the traffic and expense, but somehow, treatment day rolls around, and I jump in the car.  The City is starting to really clear out for the summer, and hopefully, the traffic will be less.  This is my third year of treatment;  It’s funny that the first two I didn’t seem to mind the traffic or the parking or the bother.  This year, it bothers me.  Perhaps it is because I am feeling more like my normal self.  The previous two years, between the myeloma and the treatments, I was really preoccupied with how I felt physically.  Now, I suppose, I can focus on other things.  That’s not to say myeloma isn’t constantly on my mind, but I am not feeling as sick as I was.  When I look back, I find it hard to believe that I worked through induction.  Not full time, but most days, say 10-4 ish.  I cooked dinner almost every night for my family.  Even on those nights i could barely eat myself.  I didn’t knock myself out with housework, but I still did the laundry, changed the bedding, kept the kitchen clean, and shopped for groceries, (sometimes).  Groceries I found hard.  Carrying things caused me fatigue and sometimes pain.  My muscles were very weak, and I was very thin.   I have gained about 10 -12 pounds back, and although most of it appears to be fat, I still feel stronger.

I would like to work out more.  I have tried on a few occasions, and I was able to go a few weeks in succession, and then I hurt my back….then I got the flu….then bronchitis…..it is frustrating.  I  was really devoted to working out in pre-myeloma days.  I do so love to get a good sweat going….I know that after all I have been through I will probably not ever be able to work out at the same level I did.  And, of course, I am 61 now.  That in itself poses some limitations.  But, I will keep trying.  My stamina in general is much better, but I am a flab magnet at this point.  I sit too much.  Now I work from home, so I don’t necessarily even get that little bit of walking around you get from going back and forth to work.  I should just pretend to go to work….walk to the car….drive around…..walk back.

Today was a pretty good day.  I do have a small cold that I caught from my son.  I catch everything!  But, luckily it is just a runny nose.  No fever, no swollen glands, no sore throat.  But, I was tired this morning when I woke up.  Perhaps it was the movie I watched between 2 and 4 am!!!!  I don’t sleep all that well, even with the addition of ativan.

So, I had a somewhat productive day.  Ran some errands, shopped for some new t-shirts at Kohl’s.  Now we are getting some takeout from Bareburger.  Not exciting, but normal.  Tomorrow we are invited to a barbecue at a friends house.  I will bring salad, wine and dessert.  Should be fun. I am looking forward to it.  I hope the traffic back and forth to Long  Island won’t be too bad.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A warm Saturday”

  1. It’s probably the humidty that gets you with the heat. I left NY when I was 18 and couldn’t leave fast enough. I never felt like I belonged on the east coast. First, I went to college in Tucson and then we moved to California and never looked back. We’ve been here 41 years. it sounds challenging to go into the city for treatment. I was going into Sacramento once a week for my Velcade shot and even that was stressful and believe me Sacramento is not NYC… so you said you’re about 3 years out. Did you have a SCT?? I wouldn’t worry too much about the whole exercise thing, just do what you can at least that’s my motto…

    Like

  2. I am actually only two years and a couple of months into myeloma. I was diagnosed in April, 2014, so this is my third summer. I did have an SCT in October, 2014. It was successful in that it put me into sCr, but I found it difficult to recover from the process. Took several months. Mostly, I had persistent nausea, which was unresponsive to medications. Now I take a velcade injection and 12 mgs of dex IV every other week for maintenance. Tolerable. Had a bad reaction to revlimid, which was supposed to be part of maintenance, too. Took the revlimid during induction, and had lots of side effects but could not tolerate it as well after the transplant.

    I was a big exerciser before myeloma. It made me feel so great. Now, I realize I have limitations. At least I can do some. Many myeloma patients can’t do any. I think it’s great that you do so much walking. They say that is the best exercise of all.

    Thanks for reading my blog!

    Ellen

    Like

Leave a comment